The Pistola Press

A Philadelphia music blog

Alex Drewchin Interview

with 2 comments

20 year old Alex Drewchin is a talented chick from Brooklyn who can stun you with her soothing vocals and intricate guitar work. So far, she has played a handful of shows in the New York City area with even more to come. Even Kyp from TV On The Radio was in the audience for a few songs at a recent show. A comment left on her MySpace reads, “You sound like Regina Spektor…if she had lesbian sex with Feist.” How could you resist that? “Vultures” gives you an idea of what it would be like.

“Vultures”

Alexandra Drewchin

When did you start sing and playing the guitar?
I started singing before I could talk. I grew up in a house with no television. My brothers and I would play in the woods all day instead. The occasional films I’d see would blow my mind. The plot of the films were not important. It was rather the scour of the films that had perfect control of my emotions throughout. So as a child I sang constantly to provide a scour for the story I was always a part of and still am. I started playing guitar when I was 16.

Who influences you vocal wise and guitar wise too?
You have a very unique style of guitar.
Ever since I was a praying mantis and lived in a violin, Antonio Vivaldi, Fredric Chopin, Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, have influenced the uninhibited and natural melody that is relentlessly trickling in my mind. My guitar pieces are composed very carefully like a classical piece. I seldomly start jamming and then deem whatever comes out a song. Sufi music inspires me vocally.

You currently reside in Brooklyn but you haven’t always. Where did you live before? When did you decide to move there?
When I finally became a human I was born on a farm in a cold spring not to far from New York. It would take one 90 minutes on a space horse to get there. I recently found out the house I lived in for a year when i was 16, also where I played my first chords, my first kiss, and had my first cigg, blew up to smithereens. I moved to Manhattan when i was 18 in the summer of 2007 and moved to Brooklyn a few months later.

Rumor has it- Kyp from TV On The Radio listened to a few of your songs at a show you played. Can you tell us the story?
Well, I had a white van with four guys in black masks give him a ride to the show where he sat quietly duck taped to a chair until my set was over. Then I held him ransom for the rad yellow outfit he wore at Bonnaroo.

Would you rather get eaten by a grizzly bear or a great white shark? Either way, you’re going down.
I wouldn’t mind either. However, I’m pretty sure the bear wouldn’t even notice that I was a perfectly good dinner. He would just pass me the blunt and then we would go catch some salmon together or some shit.

What did you want to be growing up?
Professional show jumper

What’s your day job?
Nanny. The kid I watch is a magician.

You recently played your first show with a backing band. How did that go?
One of the best days of my life. I am very blessed to know the two very talented paper swans who played bass and drums for me that night.

Are you involved any other musical projects beside your solo one?
I’ve been playing in the psych band for a couple years called Silver Summit. I also have a new project that I have started with my friend, Steven Vega, called Wild World. Steve and I have been writing and doing performance art together for a couple years now. This project is the product of me living here in Brooklyn and being exposed to so much amazing music happening at the hands of best friends and future friends. It is a fusion of Steve’s heavy electronic post rock style and my warm snow. I can’t wait. I can’t wait. I can’t wait.

What are your plans for the rest of 2009?
Wild World. Nicaragua. Motorcycle. Laughing a lot. Making love. Listening. Hopefully studio. Hopefully shows.

“Cake It On”
” Black Coal”

Alexandra Drewchin

Written by Colin Kerrigan

September 15, 2009 at 3:56 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Trying to reach your mum, Mary Innis? or dad Sasha Drewchin.

    Are u there lovely daughter?

    Anonymous

    August 21, 2010 at 2:54 am

    • Hello This is Silas, Sasha and Mary’s son. And this is my sister. Email me to get in touch “Anonymous”

      Silas Drewchin

      October 8, 2010 at 2:42 pm


Leave a Reply

